15/3/21 Blackwork Owl (from Etsy)

Gorgeous! Can't wait to start stitching!

Tena

15/3/21 Psychedelic Buttercup

Beautiful
This arrived faster than I expected it to and it’s gorgeous. I’ve bought multiple things over the years and I have had nothing but amazing experiences with doodlecraft, would definitely recommend.
Steph
15/3/21 Commission

5* Brilliance!!
Debbie was absolutely fantastic! A very personal experience from her regarding my customised cross stitch. Prompt replies and quick delivery. Absolutely recommend Doodlecraft.
Sarah
12/3/21 Blackwork Wolf

Shortfall of thread 😕
Beautiful design, fast delivery but sadly not complete (no DMC 3042). Couldn’t give as a gift because it was incomplete and obviously no idea when ‘new stock from DMC’ will be delivered to yourself. I feel that it would have been better if contact with me had been made about the shortfall so I could have made other arrangements for the gifting 😕
Margaret
REPLY 12/3/21
Hi Margaret, I'm so sorry you have had this issue, we did not realise that there was a time constraint on this kit and would have sourced the thread from another supplier rather than wait for the DMC stock to arrive if we had known. The thread stock has arrived with us this morning and we will get it into the post for you today, I understand that this does not help with your gifting issue and would like to offer you a discount code for any purchase from the website, I will e-mail you the discount code. I do hope that this issue does not deter you from shopping with us again and if there are any instructions regarding the purchase just drop us an e-mail and we will do what we can to help. All the very best, Debbie
6/3/21 Introduction to Blackwork (from Etsy)

Nice little kit. Arrived really quickly and the free little chart was a nice surprise. The fabric could of done with being cut better is the only small criticism

REPLY 6/3/21

Hi, Thanks for your review of the Intro to Blackwork kit, I'm sorry there has been a problem with the fabric. If you could send me the order number I will send you a replacement piece of fabric. All the best, Debbie

REPLY 6/3/21

Oh don’t worry! Like I said in the review it’s not a huge deal

4/3/21 Commission

Awesome!!

Debbie is really friendly and honest regarding the photo I wanted customised. Great communication and a prompt, efficient service. Very professionally done - can't wait to see the finished result! I highly recommend Doodle craft ☺

Sarah

2/3/21 Commission - Institute of Horticulture

Excellent

Sue

2/3/21 Dolphins in Sunshine

Hurray for sunshine
I'm so happy to see this version. I bought the version on black and it is stunning but I just know I will have trouble with the dark fabric. Thank you for updating the design for those of us.
Jane
REPLY 3/3/21
Hi Jane,
You're very welcome :0)
I'm always happy to do what I can.
All the best,
Debbie
1/3/21 Cross stitch Motorbike & Sidecar

It’s a wonderful kit and easy to follow pattern.

Julia

24/2/21 Blackwork Embroidery - Brown Owl

At first I thought I might have been a bit ambitious in choosing the owl design as my first adventure in blackwork but once the face had been completed it was much plainer sailing. The colours and patterns keep changing so your interest is held and, as the stitching uses only one strand of embroidery thread, the detail is very fine and easily seen. I like it very much. Given the amount of design and materials included in the kit, I think it is very good value for money. Overall, I am very pleased and would purchase again from Doodlecraft Design,

Barbara G

22/2/21 Blackwork Embroidery Elephant & Calf

I have added this chart to my collection and is in the stash to be done? Lovely and clear chart.

Linda P

19/2/21 Blackwork in Blue (from Etsy)

very pleased with completed design

Marion

9/2/21 Introduction to Blackwork (from Etsy)

Fantastic purchase! Bought the kit for me to try my first blackwork design, instructions are great, plenty of materials included and a bonus free pattern also! Highly recommend this Etsy shop! Delivery was speedy and well packaged!

Charlotte

30/01/21 Introduction to Blackwork

Lovely little kit. looking forward to starting this.

Jade

24/01/21 Welsh Dragon Cross stitch (from Etsy)

Fantastic, comprehensive kit with easy to follow instructions. Very pleased.

Emma

17/01/21 Welsh Dragon Cross stitch (from Etsy)

I love this pattern. Easy to read. Thanks!

Jamie

04/01/21 The Accolade

Great quality product from an amazing seller. Always great at replying to messages and very helpful.

Amy

30/12/20 Blackwork Embroidery 'Elements' and 'Purple Cushion'

Ordering and keeping me up to date with order has been excellent. Now, just waiting for the order to come though. Due to Christmas and Covid - 19 restrictions the order is taking longer than expected. Will update review once received.

Kaneez Z.

Update 31/12/20

Blackwork Embroidery - Update
Update on previous review. Absolutely beautiful designs. Thank you
18/12/20 Introduction to Blackwork

Just as described. This was an enjoyable stitch. I managed to get it finished quickly in days because I was enjoying it so much. I managed to run our of thread whilst working the border but luckily I had some in my stash.

16/12/20 Introduction to Blackwork

Just as described. I've started stitching on it and I'm loving it. Very quick stitch.

7/12/20 Chess Board with Celtic Theme

Beautiful Blackwork designs

Chart is very comprehensive and quite large so it’s easy to read. Beautiful threads and good quality Aida. So many different Blackwork designs for each square. Lovely kit highly recommend.

Judy C.
1/12/20 Blackwork Embroidery Wolf

Stunning design
I had a query about the pattern, this was very quickly answered and resolved. The designer was very helpful, and I am really enjoying stitching this beautiful design.
Gillian
23/11/20 Cross stitch & Blackwork Embroidery - Zodiac Signs

Great for beginners!

I’m a beginner when it comes to embroidery, and this is the second blackwork kit I’ve ever tried (the first one was also a DoodleCraft design - introduction to blackwork design no. 1) It’s so easy to work and very addictive too! A lovely little project which serves as a great intro to blackwork. I feel like I’ll be able to tackle a bigger project very soon. The only issue I have (and this is nothing to do with the kit, but a personal preference) is that I never know what to do with it afterwards! I’m not a massive fan of displaying embroidery as artwork on walls etc, so any ideas of ways to incorporate the kit into something functional after stitching would be very welcome!

Sabrina M.

REPLY 23/11/20

How about adding some backing fabric and some filling and making it into a pin cushion - you could then use it with all the new Blackwork projects you're going to do!

All the very best, Debbie

16/11/20 Blackwork Clock

This is a Christmas gift from me to myself so I will not be started it until Christmas Day. Everything looks well.

Kaye S.
16/11/20 Coasters for Christmas

This is an excellent product - I have made them with cross-stitch patterns for Christmas gifts.

Kaye S.
16/11/20 Blackwork Embroidery - Peacock in Blue

Looks beautiful......

Christmas present not given yet.

Peter V.
27/10/20 Gorgeous kits, arrived super fast!

Having tried one of these kits last year (bought from Doodlecraft's stall at the Harrogate Knitting and Stitching Show) I had high hopes for the others, and the kits do not disappoint. The chart is clear, the materials are high quality, and the instructions are simple to follow. The kits are really satisfying to embroider, and a nice challenge too. They look gorgeous when they're complete - I've put mine inside glass coasters, and they're really attractive. The kits arrived far faster than I expected (within a few days), and were perfectly packaged to travel safely in the post.

Dr M.
23/10/20 Intro to Blackwork (Etsy Review)

Wonderful introduction to Blackwork, something that I have wanted to try for some time. Thanks to this kit I've made a start and already I'm hooked! Highly recommended for the nervous beginner.

Elaine

21/10/20 Welsh Dragon (Etsy Review)

Looks beautiful! I'm sure my daughter-in-law will love it! Also, thanks so much for the free chart!

Debbie

13/10/20 Elephant & Calf (Etsy Review)

Bought for my Mum, lovely design & she’s delighted

Victoria

13/9/20 Blackwork Owl (Etsy Review)

So happy with my purchase and chart is well done.

Sarah

11/9/20 Blackwork Owl (Etsy Review)

The kit shipped quickly, and came even before I was allowed to post a review! Thank you!

AmethystRL

3/9/20 The Accolade (Etsy Review)

love this time in history. Is it possible for you to find me a cross stitch pattern of Guinivere chart or kit at a reasonable price. The other is Queen of Fairies same. Most grateful, thank you in advance. Just starting Accolade am enjoying at this time. Arrived promptly and in good condition. Blessings

Debbie

16/8/20 Le Chat Noir (Etsy Review)

One of my favorite "noir". Can't wait to get
started on my project and fast delivery.

Parmi

8/8/20 Blackwork Owl (Etsy Review)

Another lovely blackwork kit which I can’t wait to start, many thanks

Gillian

31/7/20 Happiness in blackwork

Easy to complete and good clear pattern. Looking forward to doing my next one

Tracey H

21/7/20 A Delight

I am really enjoying working on the project however I do have a problem with the half stitches. Having 'older' eyes it is sometime difficult to see them without a magnifier. Luckily as far as I can see there aren't that many to deal with otherwise I may have not carried on with it.

REPLY 21/7/20

Hi Lesley, I'm so pleased you are enjoying 'Fire'. With regards the half stitches, I think that with Fire you could get away with leaving them out. I use them to connect the blackwork patterns to rounded shapes but on 18 count I don't think it would show if you left them out.

All the best, Debbie

17/7/20 Happiness in blackwork

This is a beautiful design. There are comprehensive instructions and good quality materials. Delivered promptly in perfect condition. When I had some queries Debbie was swift in responding with the information I needed. 5 stars. Would not hesitate to buy from here again!

15/7/20 Introduction to Blackwork (Etsy Review)

Not started this yet, but brill quick delivery, and a lovely free gift too! Lovely idea, and so thoughtful.

Olivia

13/7/20 Personalised Backgammon Kit

The chart and instructions are very clear and Debbie did wonders to get the personalisation spot on. I have to say it's a 5* item, bit I paid for overlocking and I think this was just an oversight that it didn't come with it.

REPLY 13/4/20

Oh Clare! I'm so sorry - you should have given me a call and I could have sent you another piece of (overlocked) fabric. If you haven't started stitching yet then let me know and I'll send you out another piece. If you have started stitching then I'll contact you privately.

10/7/20 Oriental Dragon (Etsy Review)

Super kit that arrived quickly. Clear instructions and lovely colours.

2/7/20 I wish I could buy them all..............

I have not started my patterns yet because I need to order threads. But, the charts are very clear. I have to stitch off my lap top to see clearly. I can refer to these charts because they are so clear. I have both owl patterns and the elephants and I really love the quality of the designs. This is a very nice lady to do business with and I will buy from her again because her designs are so different and works of art.

Judi F.

30/6/20 Brown Owl

Wish the pattern would have printed out bigger without having to blow it up to see the pattern easier

 Eve P.

REPLY 30/6/20

Hi Eve, Thank you for your review. I can certainly send you a bigger chart if you would like, just let me know and if it works for you I can send it as a pdf. All the best, Debbie

27/6/20 Alhambra (Commission)

Haven't used it yet. It looks fantastic. Service has been fantastic and speedy.

 Karen B.

23/6/20 Holly (Commission)

Very good service and very prompt

Valerie N.

20/6/20 Blackwork Baubles Christmas Card

Haven't used it yet, but I don't foresee any problems. CUTE design and well-packaged. Great service. I LOVE IT AND CAN'T WAIT TO WORK IT!

 Charlie d.

15/6/20 Ludo

My friend was very happy to get the order as already bought snake and ladders at the ehibition early this year. She was very happy with that too

Penny

12/6/20 Introduction to Blackwork (Etsy Review)

Perfect first intro, the chart is clear and the stitch instructions are also useful for future projects. Comes with a good sized piece of aida fabric, needle and plenty of thread :) Am already working on turning it into a bigger piece!

 

22/5/20 Love this design!!!

What a gorgeous pattern. Thank you.

Christine, USA

22/5/20 Chess Kits

I've bought 2 chess kits and 1 backgammon kit they are excellent, and with the A3 coloured key so easy to follow, thank you for an amazing product

Janet

18/5/20 Snakes & Ladders - Lovely

Excellent service and looking forward to making item.

Sian

18/5/20 Snakes & Ladders

Excellent product. I love the large print pattern (great for those of us that are visually impaired) and the whole design. Have already recommended to friends 😁

Stacey Y.

14/5/20 Dragons & Beanstalks

Received the package with my missing thread today.  Thank you so much.  Have already started my design and must complement you on the clear instructions.  Love the design.

Janet

9/5/20 Introduction to Blackwork (Etsy Review)

Item came exactly as described.

9/5/20 Snakes & Ladders

Just wanted to say thank you for my Snakes and Ladders kit.  I have stitched for many years, more than I care to remember, but I think this is the best design and informative kit I have ever purchased. I  particularly like the large charts, usually I have had to do my own on photocopier but I only have an A4 copier which means I end up with lots of sheets.  I was puzzled by the word Blackwork, I have done Blue and Red work but never come across Blackwork, I did some research and now understand what it means.  I machine sew and embroider and cross stitch but this design is something I am not used to so am really looking forward to stitching it,   Although I am no beginning it was good to have all the very easy to follow instructions, never hurts to re-read what you think you know. Looking forward to starting stitching it tomorrow as it looks like the weather is going to change and go back to normal for time of year.

Sandy

5/4/20 They put it right

Unfortunately sent fabric in different colour to that advertised but sent the correct fabric quickly after I emailed my concern.

Carolyn

17/3/20 Feedback on Christmas Card

I have not yet started to sew the kit but it appears to be as expected. However I was disappointed to see that the card mount enclosed was badly creased and not fit for purpose.

REPLY 17/3/20

Hi Margaret, Thanks for the review and many apologies for the creased card mount. I have sent out a new one to you today along with a small something from us to thank you for your patience.

REPLY 19/3/20

Thank you so much for sending a new card mount and the mini cross stitch kit. I will not hesitate to place a further order with you. 

30/12/19 Very Impressed!

Thank you for the excellent customer service and prompt response. The project has now started and the pattern is excellent. This is a very large cross stitch project so will take some considerable time to complete. It is good to know that your customisation service is available and works so well and efficiently.
Geoff
5/12/2019 Introduction to Blackwork - Just as described

Clear instructions. Quality materials.

Ruth

3/12/2019 Thrilled with the Commission of Molly!

2 1/2 years in the making and I am THRILLED with the outcome.Thankyou fabulous Doodlecraft Design.

From the moment I contacted Debbie I was in the hands of a professional. She cleverly merged two photos of Molly to create the best design. When the kit arrived the design and instructions and code couldn’t have been more straightforward to follow. It was a big undertaking which required a lot of time and I am thrilled with the result.

Fiona

9/10/2019 Le Chat Noir (Etsy Review)

Lovely kit! I’d prefer slightly smaller and coloured instructions, but so far so good! Thank you

 

20/9/2019 Beautiful designs!

Hi Debbie. I am in awe of your designs and creations!!! I've been a cross-stitcher for more years than I like to admit, but I'm new to Blackwork and I think it was love at first sight. I've also enjoyed learning about its history. It will probably be a while before I get to this project, but I had to have it. Right now I'm still in the experimenting phase of finding out how best I like to work the designs, and I'm also experimenting with a lot of variegated floss. What's great is that I can just choose a square to work with which is much easier than working an abstract shape.
I also wanted to let you know that I have told so many people about your gameboards! They are really amazing. I'm hoping to see more games in the future.
The package arrived last week in perfect condition. Your charts are great and very easy to read, which is especially good because my eyes are getting old.
Thanks!!
Carol

18/7/2019 Botanic Chess (Etsy Review)

Beautiful chart! Easy to read. Great kit. Exactly what I was looking for.
The only complaint I have is that a lot of the floss is precut to a short length. I like to work with about a 36" strand of floss so I don't have to stop/start as often. I would prefer to cut my own lengths.

 
22/5/2019 Beautiful blackwork chess board, lots of detail.
I purchased this chart, in blue, at the needlecraft fair in Harrogate, though as it's a chart I can stitch it in any colour! I spent nearly an hour on this stand and spent most of my three figure budget here on assorted kits and charts. The owners were very helpful and answered ALL my questions, and even after my grilling, offered that I could call them if I got stuck once at home. That's not an after care service many retailers offer today! This chess board has lots of variety, if you are easily board - you won't be here. It also offers a good practice of different blackwork designs having 10 different ones within the kit. I would highly recommend this chess board kit or chart, even if you don't play it will be a lovely heirloom piece to pass down through your family. I hope you enjoy it as much as me. - Jo
22/5/2019 Botanical backgammon - superb detail in the chart
I bought this chart, along with a three figure cost of other charts and kits from DoodleCraft Designs while at the Needlecraft fair in Harrogate, (highly recommended). I am making a side table in a woodwork evening class to display this, and hopefully get a few games of backgammon in! The detail in the chart is superb and a lovely mix of coloured black work and cross stitch. I also bought a chess chart with the intention of mounting them between perspex and flipping them, but my woodwork teacher says it wont be possible as the only way to attach the perspex is with a bead of glue, and to hide that would be to use a trim of wood glued on. But he says that turning the piece will weaken the glue and it will fall apart. No worries, I will just have to make a 2nd side table for my chess board! If you are hesitating about purchasing this chart, or indeed kit, don't. You will not be disappointed I can assure you. The team also said if I was stuck at all then I could contact them. Not many establishments offer that kind of after sales care! - Jo
11/12/2018 Stunning! I love it.
It is my next project. I bought a Chessboard kit (with Coloris threads) at Harrogate K&S and I have started that. It is wonderful to stitch and the instructions are clear and easy to follow, so I am really looking forward to starting the Cat. Thank you. - Carol
18/9/2018 My winter project
Fab project. Very flexible and adaptable to taste. I have adjusted colours and patterns to suit me and have put our family motto and crest around the edge. It’s taking ages but will be worth it in the end. - Siobhan
18/9/2018 Clock kit
Great, Debbie was so helpful! - Lynn
18/9/2018 Zodiac signs
I was a little worried 😟 about how to do the black work but the instructions were very clear Thank you - Sarah
26/7/2018 Bespoke Design (Etsy Review)

I needed a custom needlepoint kit of my Benghal cat and Doodlecraft design produced one quickly. Communication and follow through was excellent.